Who does the Bible call whore?

Colossians 2 (New International Version)
I want you to know how much I am struggling for you and for those at Laodicea, and for all who have not met me personally. My purpose is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.
I tell you this so that no one may deceive you by fine-sounding arguments. 5For though I am absent from you in body, I am present with you in spirit and delight to see how orderly you are and how firm your faith in Christ is.
Galatians 1:18 Then after three years, I went up to Jerusalem to get acquainted with Peter and stayed with him fifteen days.

Galatians 2:7-9
On the contrary, they saw that I had been entrusted with the task of preaching the gospel to the Gentiles, just as Peter had been to the Jews.

For God, who was at work in the ministry of Peter as an apostle to the Jews, was also at work in my ministry as an apostle to the Gentiles.
James, Peter and John, those reputed to be pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the Jews.
Galatians 2:11
[ Paul Opposes Peter ] When Peter came to Antioch, I opposed him to his face, because he was clearly in the wrong.
Galatians 2:14 When I saw that they were not acting in line with the truth of the gospel, I said to Peter in front of them all, “You are a Jew, yet you live like a Gentile and not like a Jew. How is it, then, that you force Gentiles to follow Jewish customs?

Ukok claimed I said something that provoked her. But let us analyze whether I provoked her or the Holy Bible provoked her instead. Ukok, from her comment in her post, “Scripture – Picture 10“, in her Blog entitled, ” … Ukok’s Place … said the following:

ukok

Searching,

I appreciate the honesty of your comment. The reason that I sometimes post Catholic faith-defence style posts is because I am provoked by individuals, or requested/prompted via email, to do so. For example; Elmantheman is currently telling me in the comments box that I belong to a church that is a whore.

What do I do? do I ignore him and delete his 4 or 5 anti-catholic comments (in a row!) or do I seek to respond to him?

On the one hand there is scripture telling us to give an explanation of what we believe (1 Peter 3:15-16)….on the other hand, isn’t apologetics served best on catholic.com or over at Jimmy Akin’s blog or Dave Armstrong’s Blog? That’s the business they’re in. I’m just a mum and parish secretary with a little bit of free time to go online each day…and truth be told, even that time would be better served elsewhere for the most part.

I conclude that there will indeed be more posts of this type that I hope will prove spiritually uplifting to all who visit, but I can’t ignore ignorance about Catholicism when it embraces hatred. For the most part, people who raise objections to Catholic Teaching/practices are just poorly catechised or have no proper understanding of Catholicism. But every now and then there is vileness that seeps into the comments box or my email inbox, and I believe if not corrected, then by silence it can be perceived to be condoned.

God Bless you!

Since you haven’t let my comments appear on your comments area, let me instead then post here my reply to you, Ukok.

I beg your pardon, Ukok?

What do you mean I am calling your church a whore?

Am I the one describing your church as a whore? Am I not reading from the scriptures? Ain’t the bible itself who gives description of what a whore is, religious and scriptural speaking?

Don’t try to make that kind of description out of me, please.

By the way, can you give me a description of what a church whore is exactly according to the Bible?

There is a mystery to those who are called whore in the Bible, and some of these might be saved too. I know God loves sinner and don’t get me wrong. If a sinner knows what to do, she will be saved, firstly from the spiritual death caused by false religion, and will be saved by earning eternal life.

Isaiah 57 (New International Version)

3 “But you—come here, you sons of a sorceress,
you offspring of adulterers and prostitutes!

4 Whom are you mocking?
At whom do you sneer
and stick out your tongue?
Are you not a brood of rebels,
the offspring of liars?

5 You burn with lust among the oaks
and under every spreading tree;
you sacrifice your children in the ravines
and under the overhanging crags.

6 The idols among the smooth stones of the ravines are your portion;
they, they are your lot.
Yes, to them you have poured out drink offerings
and offered grain offerings.
In the light of these things, should I relent?

7 You have made your bed on a high and lofty hill;
there you went up to offer your sacrifices.

8 Behind your doors and your doorposts
you have put your pagan symbols.
Forsaking me, you uncovered your bed,
you climbed into it and opened it wide;
you made a pact with those whose beds you love,
and you looked on their nakedness.

9 You went to Molech with olive oil
and increased your perfumes.
You sent your ambassadors far away;
you descended to the grave itself!

10 You were wearied by all your ways,
but you would not say, ‘It is hopeless.’
You found renewal of your strength,
and so you did not faint.

11 Whom have you so dreaded and feared
that you have been false to me,
and have neither remembered me
nor pondered this in your hearts?
Is it not because I have long been silent
that you do not fear me?

12 I will expose your righteousness and your works,
and they will not benefit you.

13 When you cry out for help,
let your collection of idols save you!
The wind will carry all of them off,
a mere breath will blow them away.
But the man who makes me his refuge
will inherit the land
and possess my holy mountain.”

Then what is the mystery to those who accepted that they are whore and wants to be cleansed?

14 And it will be said:
“Build up, build up, prepare the road!
Remove the obstacles out of the way of my people.”
15 For this is what the high and lofty One says—
he who lives forever, whose name is holy:
“I live in a high and holy place,
but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit,
to revive the spirit of the lowly
and to revive the heart of the contrite.

16 I will not accuse forever,
nor will I always be angry,
for then the spirit of man would grow faint before me—
the breath of man that I have created.

17 I was enraged by his sinful greed;
I punished him, and hid my face in anger,
yet he kept on in his willful ways.

18 I have seen his ways, but I will heal him;
I will guide him and restore comfort to him,

19 creating praise on the lips of the mourners in Israel.
Peace, peace, to those far and near,”
says the LORD. “And I will heal them.”

But to those who pursue whoredom:

20 But the wicked are like the tossing sea,
which cannot rest,
whose waves cast up mire and mud.

21 “There is no peace,” says my God, “for the wicked.”

Jeremiah 3 (New International Version)

1 “If a man divorces his wife
and she leaves him and marries another man,
should he return to her again?
Would not the land be completely defiled?
But you have lived as a prostitute with many lovers
would you now return to me?”
declares the LORD.

2 “Look up to the barren heights and see.
Is there any place where you have not been ravished?
By the roadside you sat waiting for lovers,
sat like a nomad in the desert.
You have defiled the land
with your prostitution and wickedness.

3 Therefore the showers have been withheld,
and no spring rains have fallen.
Yet you have the brazen look of a prostitute;
you refuse to blush with shame.

4 Have you not just called to me:
‘My Father, my friend from my youth,

5 will you always be angry?
Will your wrath continue forever?’
This is how you talk,
but you do all the evil you can.”

End of my comment

Ukok, you having said that, “…On the one hand there is scripture telling us to give an explanation of what we believe (1 Peter 3:15-16)…”, haven’t you realize that this is an instruction, warning and advice to the Church of God? To have a clear conscience is first to realize that you are part of the Church of God, and the teachings are thoroughly explained to you that no one needs to teach you outside the Church of God.

But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, 16keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander.

Ukok, let us avoid wandering away from the truth, those that are in the Holy Scriptures, please ponder on the following verses instead for some more real biblical definition and explanation of our topic:

Jeremiah 3 (New International Version)

6 During the reign of King Josiah, the LORD said to me, “Have you seen what faithless Israel has done? She has gone up on every high hill and under every spreading tree and has committed adultery there. 7 I thought that after she had done all this she would return to me but she did not, and her unfaithful sister Judah saw it. 8 I gave faithless Israel her certificate of divorce and sent her away because of all her adulteries. Yet I saw that her unfaithful sister Judah had no fear; she also went out and committed adultery.

9 Because Israel’s immorality mattered so little to her, she defiled the land and committed adultery with stone and wood. 10 In spite of all this, her unfaithful sister Judah did not return to me with all her heart, but only in pretense,” declares the LORD.

11 The LORD said to me, “Faithless Israel is more righteous than unfaithful Judah. 12 Go, proclaim this message toward the north:
” ‘Return, faithless Israel,’ declares the LORD,
‘I will frown on you no longer,
for I am merciful,’ declares the LORD,
‘I will not be angry forever.

13 Only acknowledge your guilt
you have rebelled against the LORD your God,
you have scattered your favors to foreign gods
under every spreading tree,
and have not obeyed me,’ ”
declares the LORD.

14Return, faithless people,” declares the LORD,for I am your husband. I will choose you—one from a town and two from a clan—and bring you to Zion. 15 Then I will give you shepherds after my own heart, who will lead you with knowledge and understanding. 16 In those days, when your numbers have increased greatly in the land,” declares the LORD, “men will no longer say, ‘The ark of the covenant of the LORD.’ It will never enter their minds or be remembered; it will not be missed, nor will another one be made. 17 At that time they will call Jerusalem The Throne of the LORD, and all nations will gather in Jerusalem to honor the name of the LORD. No longer will they follow the stubbornness of their evil hearts. 18 In those days the house of Judah will join the house of Israel, and together they will come from a northern land to the land I gave your forefathers as an inheritance.

19 “I myself said,
” ‘How gladly would I treat you like sons
and give you a desirable land,
the most beautiful inheritance of any nation.’
I thought you would call me ‘Father’
and not turn away from following me.

20 But like a woman unfaithful to her husband,
so you have been unfaithful to me, O house of Israel,”
declares the LORD.

21 A cry is heard on the barren heights,
the weeping and pleading of the people of Israel,
because they have perverted their ways
and have forgotten the LORD their God.

22Return, faithless people;
I will cure you of backsliding.”
“Yes, we will come to you,
for you are the LORD our God.

23 Surely the idolatrous commotion on the hills
and mountains is a deception;
surely in the LORD our God
is the salvation of Israel.

24 From our youth shameful gods have consumed
the fruits of our fathers’ labor—
their flocks and herds,
their sons and daughters
.

25 Let us lie down in our shame,
and let our disgrace cover us.
We have sinned against the LORD our God,
both we and our fathers;

from our youth till this day
we have not obeyed the LORD our God.”

Ukok, enough of your selective use of the Holy Scriptures as if only the Roman Catholic Church’s interpretation of Peter’s writing matters. The Holy Bible is composed of writings with divine guidance. So, the verse that you mentioned would be more useful if you really are using the Holy Bible as a whole to answer every questions, not by selective use of verses that you think will benefit you and your church without regard to other books in it that conflicts your interpretation in the Holy Bible. By the way, may I ask you, do you consider yourself as a gentile by birth? May I ask you too, Ukok, Peter even considered Paul as one being entrusted with what task to begin with?

Galatians 2:7-9
On the contrary, they saw that I had been entrusted with the task of preaching the gospel to the Gentiles, just as Peter had been to the Jews.

For God, who was at work in the ministry of Peter as an apostle to the Jews, was also at work in my ministry as an apostle to the Gentiles.
James, Peter and John, those reputed to be pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the Jews.

Let us read Peter, considering that you consider him as first Pope of the Roman Catholic Church.

1 Peter 3

1Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, 2when they see the purity and reverence of your lives.
3Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. 4Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. 5For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. They were submissive to their own husbands, 6like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her master. You are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear.

What did Peter write about Paul?

2 Peter 3 (New International Version)

15Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him. 16He writes the same way in all his letters, speaking in them of these matters.

His letters contain some things that are hard to understand, which ignorant and unstable people distort, as they do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction.

17Therefore, dear friends, since you already know this, be on your guard so that you may not be carried away by the error of lawless men and fall from your secure position. 18But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen.

Ukok, and I take this opportunity to address the author of St. Michael the Archangel – And Other Angel Stories, and his readers, having shown you some verses of the Holy Bible, let me leave you a warning from St Paul instead, as being regarded by St Peter as a minister to the Gentiles. St Paul, being entrusted with the task of preaching the gospel to the Gentiles, with the right and authority also coming from God, which you most probably, even me, belongs to in some definition in the Holy Bible itself:

Colossians 2:17-19
These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ.

Do not let anyone who delights in false humility and the worship of angels disqualify you for the prize.

Such a person goes into great detail about what he has seen, and his unspiritual mind puffs him up with idle notions.

He has lost connection with the Head, from whom the whole body, supported and held together by its ligaments and sinews, grows as God causes it to grow.

Colossians 2:6-8

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.

Reference

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

